A New Place, on My Own

When I first get to a new place, I don’t usually talk to anyone but I notice that everyone else seems to have made a ton of friends. While the others mingle about, I sit and scroll through my twitter, hoping someone will come up to me or I’ll run into someone I know and they’ll talk to me. But no, I just end up going through the event by myself, and sometimes I become angry at myself for not being more outgoing or friendly.

b22

In the end I simply accept that I have to practice my social skills and accept that it might take me a little longer to make friends. I know that I can’t simply be mad at myself for never being able to make friends. Recently I have tried to introduce myself to different people. I would go to lunch on my own and try to talk to a stranger and we are able to carry out a decent conversation.

AIN39T-GOT-NO-FRIENDS-GO-MAKE-SOME-meme-12612

I think that if someone feels that they are lacking in the number of friends they have, they should try to talk to different people. Although it may be a difficult pill to swallow, it’s important not carry a negative attitude whenever someone has to go to a social event or to a meeting where they might have to interact with others. Lastly, it is important not to be intimidated by the success other might have making friends. It becomes easy to compare how quickly someone might be able to make friends, but never lose hope and most importantly keep confidence!

Blog post 2

Leave a Reply

